An Unlikely Marriage?

I am trying to ‘marry’ health with quilting.  Many people are telling me ‘it will never work’ – they are incompatible.   Others are saying they have nothing in common.

I am listening to the comments, but – like any blushing bride embarking upon a new adventure – I am going to go ahead, do it anyway, and keep the optimistic spirit I had when I first envisioned the ‘partnering’.    It will be a ‘give and take’ relationship – sometimes one will get the attention, sometimes the other – and time will hopefully iron out any imbalances or difficulties.   I am including picture indicators to show which comments concern health and which comments concern quilting, so you can go directly to the part that interests you.

I found this comment from Dr. Mark Hyman, interesting:  Think of magnesium as the relaxation mineral. Anything that is tight, irritable, crampy, and stiff — whether it is a body part or an even a mood — is a sign of magnesium deficiency.

If you suffer from any of these symptoms:

  • Muscle cramps or twitches
  • Insomnia
  • Irritability
  • Sensitivity to loud noises
  • Anxiety
  • Autism
  • ADD
  • Palpitations
  • Angina
  • Constipation
  • Anal spasms
  • Headaches
  • Migraines
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Chronic fatigue
  • Asthma
  • Kidney stones
  • Diabetes
  • Obesity
  • Osteoporosis
  • High blood pressure
  • PMS
  • Menstrual cramps
  • Irritable bladder
  • Irritable bowel syndrome
  • Reflux
  • Trouble swallowing
It could be a magnesium deficiency, and you might be interested in his article:  http://drhyman.com/magnesium-the-most-powerful-relaxation-mineral-available-577/

 

I have just accepted a position in my quilt guild to be in charge of Friendship Groups.   I am excited.  That is how I found My friendship group, and we have been together about 15 years.   Long story short – I am giving a ‘goody bag’ as an incentive for new guild members to sign up for a group.   I announced it in the newsletter. ..and now I will have to be prepared to Deliver!   One of the things I am including in the goody bag is a rotary cutter holder made from a potholder (fold potholder in half, sew across the bottom and up the long side).  As with so many things in life – I happened to mention it to a quilting friend – who just happened to have a bag of new potholders she wanted to get rid of….Serendipity !!!

You can also make your own potholders out of cute quilt fabric….lol

 

 

Here are the potholders….

 

 

With their subsequent transformation into Rotary Cutter Holders:

Leave a Reply

