Pincushions and Energy

It is time to move on to a new posting – so many people have been interested in the gingham quilt, I thought I would let that be on the front page, for a while.

This is just a little bit of an idea that has come in handy .  A few years ago I bought a small red tomato pincushion with some kind sticky back that was to be attached to a sewing machine.

It was kind of expensive, for what it was, I thought, but wanting little pincushions on my other machines, I made my own version.   Here is a pic of the tomato pincushion as my inspiration.

This is a pic of the one I made, that is on my other machine.

I have made more, to put in the goodie bags I am giving as an incentive to join a friendship group in my guild.  They are felt, stuffed with batting, with a piece of double-sided velcro on the back.

First I stick the two sides (tufted and teeth) sides of the velcro together.  Then, taking the tufted side of the velcro, I peel off the covering and stick the velcro on the back of the pincushion, leaving the side with the teeth attached.  Then I peel the backing off the teeth side and stick the pincushion onto the sewing machine, wherever I want the pincushion to be.  If I want to change the pincushion, at some point, I can pull it off, leaving the backing (teeth-sided) piece of velcro on the machine, waiting for a new pincushion.    If you make one, you had better make several – when they see yours’, all your friends are going to want one!

One of my interests in health is energy, and how it affects our health and well-being.   This may seem a bit ‘off’ to some of you, if you have had little experience with this kind of thing.  A few years ago it would have seemed that way to me.   This past year I have become a Reiki Master.  Reiki is a system that originated in Japan many years ago, of lightly resting hands on a person in a patterned way, to promote relaxation, a sense of well-being, and sometimes, healing.   I think it helps the energy flow of our bodies, and helps places to become ‘unstuck’, so the energy can flow through our body the way it was designed to do.   This can also be done long distance, on people and animals.

Here is a pic of my cat, the first time he received a Reiki treatment – I did not touch him at all – I just held the palms of my hands towards him, as I had been taught, let the energy flow, and he lay down in a pile of my shoes,  stretched out, and stayed that way for about 45 minutes.

There is a man, Michael Mohoric, who is incredibly gifted, with the use of energy.   This Sunday evening he is sending out energy to those who want to receive it.  I am including the link to his blog announcement of this, so if you are interested, you can find out more about how it works.    He did this about a month ago, and I had even forgotten about it, but received the energy anyway, apparently, because I suddenly realized I wanted to be a health coach to quilters, redid my website, added a Facebook page, started this blog, and wrote a Kindle book, all in the month after receiving this ‘energy’ that I had forgotten about.  Maybe you could attribute this to something else, but for the entire year and a half before this, upon being ‘forced’ into semi-retirement, I sat in my recliner chair in front of the television, inert, for most of the day, every day!  Anyway – check it out – it won’t hurt you, and it might help….this is the link to his blog where he describes what will be happening Sunday.  You also can find a link to his website in his blog.

http://qigongenergyhealing.blogspot.com/

I love feeling productive, again!


Leave a Reply

