20 Dogs and an Owl

In keeping with the animal theme, March has come into Southern California like a lion!  The winds have been throwing my rose trellises around, daily, and giving me a good excuse to stay indoors and finish some projects.  To the left is my dog, Charlie.

I have finished my owl quilt that I started in Marguerette’s workshop (see previous post).

I still have to add beaded fringe along the bottom and beaded highlights on the owl and background, but the basic quilt is finished.  Whew!  Now I am ready to have fun with the embellishments.

Now, about the “20 Dog Project”.  It probably should be named “Charlie’s Quilt” because it all started with a small black dog I named Charlie because his mustache reminded me of  Charlie Chaplin, who was sometimes referred to as the “Little Tramp”.   My Charlie started out as a ‘little tramp’, as well.  We found him sleeping in my daughter’s yard, where he had been for three days.   Because I was going on my trip to Minnesota,  I placed Charlie with an organization called “Halfway to Home Dog Rescue”, with the understanding that I might want to adopt him when I returned.    I called to pick him up when I returned, and was told that Charlie had been sick with Parvo, but they had caught it in time, and the vet was able to miraculously pull him through.    Charlie has been with me since September, and after finding quilt patterns, fabric, batting, and spools of thread in my back yard, I was not surprised to find out that Charlie was just a pup, at eight months old.   Charlie is eager to please, and a great little guy to have around!   I feel lucky to have him.

The place that helped Charlie, Halfway to Home, established and run by Suzanne Poth, is a wonderful dog rescue organization.   The dogs they rescue are well loved and well cared for.    Last fall they were in jeopardy of being closed by local authorities for some, what seemed like rather arbitrary, conditions not being met, like not having closed, heated cement runs for all of their dogs.    There was a public outcry, so they were given several years to bring the facility into compliance.   I wanted to do something to help them raise the $35,000 they need for upgrades, and realized that, as a quilter, I could make a quilt and hold an opportunity drawing for it.   So that is what I am doing.

This is Charlie’s Quilt.

If any of you would like to make a donation to win this quilt, please contact me at kryn44@hotmail.com.

The dog appliques were fused and then hand embroidered and appliqued by me, and machine quilted by my friend, Bea Wheeler.  The patterns came from books by Darcy Ashton, Big Beautiful Dogs, and Darling Little Dogs.

This is before the binding was on:

If you would like to find out more about Halfway to Home, below are several links:

This is their home page:  http://www.halfwaytohome.net/featuredpet.html

This is a You Tube video:

This is their Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Halfway-to-Home-Dog-Rescue/157543604255784

The drawing for the quilt will be held /at the Antelope Valley Quilt Association spring quilt show,  Lancaster, California,  Sunday, May 20th, 2012.   You do not need to be present to win.

Your support would be so much Appreciated!

Karen

Leave a Reply

